Close this search box.
banner 09

Child Care Recognition Award Past Recipients

2024 Award Recipient(s)

Susan Ellis, Manager/Skidegate Early Childhood Development Center, Haida Gwaii, BC
Linda Mitchell, Manager/Kwantlen First Nation’s Aboriginal Head Start on Reserve program, Kwantlen, BC
Anita Patrick, Director/N’Quatqua Child And Family Development Centre, D’Arcy, BC

2023 Award Recipient(s)

Postponed until following year

2022 Award Recipient(s)

Charmayne Nikal, Daycare Manager/Kyah Wiget Education Society, Witset, BC

2021 Award Recipient(s)

Postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic

2020 Award Recipient(s)

Postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic

2019 Award Recipient(s)

Cheryl Sybil Tait, Nisga’a Supported Child Development Consultant, Nisga’a Child and Family Services, Gitlaxt’aamiks, BC
Shauna Mae Alec, Early Years Program Director, Lake Babine Nation, Burns Lake, BC
Angie Maitland, ECE Manger, Haisla Nation Council, Kitamaat, BC

2018 Award Recipient(s)

Mona Tronson, retired from Snc’c’mala?tn Early Childhood Education Centre, Armstrong, BC
Lucie Theoret, Kermode Friendship Society ECE, Terrace, BC
Anna Zanella, Friendship House association of Prince Rupert Executive Director, Prince Rupert, BC

2017 Award Recipient(s)

Connie Deane, Coordinator Aboriginal ECD Program, Vernon First Nations Friendship Centre
Laranna Androsoff, Aboriginal Early Years Cultural Outreach; Parent Educator and Child Care Lead Boundary Family and Individual Services Society Grand Forks, BC

2016 Award Recipient(s)

Jackie Casey, Head Start Elder, Skidegate Early Childhood Development Center, Skidegate
Jennifer Cross, Aboriginal Early Childhood Development, Skidegate Early
Childhood Development Center, Skidegate
Roseanne George, Program Coordinator, Ayas’Lam Family Program, Squamish Nation
Vanessa Cardinal, Eagle Program Supervisor, Splatsin Tsm7aksaltn Society, Enderby
Vanessa Hickman, Program Manager, Awahsuk Aboriginal Head Start, Surrey

2015 Award Recipient(s)
Sharlene Wilson, Aboriginal Supported Child Development Consultant, Prince Rupert
Trena Haller, Aboriginal Head Start Outreach Worker, Riske Creek
Tasha Sam, Early Childhood Educator, Port Alberni
Flo Lewis, Team Leader for ASCD, Vancouver Aboriginal Supported Child Development Program

2014 Award Recipient(s)
Elder Lucille Nicholson, Ta na wa Xwniẇn ta a ĺmats – the Teachings for your GrandChildren – Elders Squamish Language Group
Denise Lacerte, ECD Manager, Spirit of the Children Society
Ada Mawson, Childcare Coordinator, Coast Salish Employment and Training Society
Dawn Westlands, Program Coordinator, Eagle’s Nest AHS preschool
Elizabeth Williams, Manager, Language and Culture Teacher, Wilp Si Wilaxsinsxwhl Simgtigyet, Kitwanga

2013 Award Recipient(s)
Chief Dora Wilson, Hagwilget Chief, Champion of Wet’suwet’en Children and Families Agency and supporter of Head Start Program, Hagwilget
Jamie Boxall, ECE Manager, Comox Valley Aboriginal Head Start

2012 Award Recipient(s)
Tara McLaughlin, Supervisor, A:lmelhawtxw Early Education Centre, Sto:Lo Nation
Dawne Perrson, ECD Manager, Carrier Sekani Family Services
Richard Wilson, Granny N Grandpa/Music and Dance Coordinator, Prince Rupert Friendship House

2011 Award Recipient(s)
Teachers at the Pqusnalhcw & Ullus Child Care Centres, Lil’wat First Nation, Mount Currie
Karen Hazelman, ECE, Sundance Daycare, Vancouver Aboriginal Friendship Centre
Pamela Lee Lewis, Director of Education for We Wai Kai Nation, Cape Mudge, Quadra Island

2010 Award Recipient(s)
Charlene Williams Daycare & Immersion Centre, Xeni Gwet’in First Nation, Nemiah Valley
Charlene Duncan, Aboriginal Supported Child Development Consultant, Hazelton
Pam Moore, Comox Valley AHS Preschool, Courtenay

2009 Award Recipient(s)
Leona Antoine, Singing Frog Aboriginal Head Start Preschool, Vancouver
Deanna Leon-Cook, Splatsin Tsm7aksaltn (Splatsin Teaching Centre) Society, Enderby
Barb Lessard, Nak’azdli Nursery Program, Nak’azdli Band, Fort St. James

2008 Award Recipient(s)
Lorna Luggi, Stellat’en Head Start Program, Stellat’en First Nation, Nadleh Bun (Fraser Lake)
Sonia Paul, Songhees First Nation Early Childhood Education Centre, Victoria
Rose Point, Musqueam Nation, Vancouver

2007 Award Recipient(s)
Penny Nickal, Witsuwit’en Child & Family Centre, Smithers
Heather Nugent, WeWaiKai Preschool/HeadStart, Cape Mudge Village, Quadra Island
Jessie Nyberg, First Nations Friendship Centre, Vernon

2006 Award Recipient(s)
Jessica Frank, Pqusnalhcw Child Care Centre, Lil’wat Nation, Mount Currie
Anne Wright, Kitselas Head Start, Kitselas Nation, Terrace

2005 Award Recipient(s)
Nadine Gagne, Kla-how-eya Aboriginal Centre, Surrey
Angel Sampson, Songhees First Nation Early Childhood Education Centre, Victoria
Wanda Stevens, Laxgalts’ap Nursery Daycare, Nisga’a Nation, Nass Valley

2004 Award Recipient(s)
Susie Lulua, Charlene Williams Daycare, Xeni Gwet’in First Nation, Nemiah Valley
Candace Robotham, Seabird Island Band, Agassiz
Lillian Samson, Gila Kyew ‘Nluulk Head Start & Daycare, Kitsumkalum First Nation, Terrace

2003 Award Recipient(s)
Laura Miller, Snc’c’amala?tn Early Childhood Education Centre, Okanagan Indian Band, Vernon
Youlanda Spenst, Morris Williams Memorial Preschool, Lake Babine Nation, Burns Lake
Rosalind Williams, Splatsin Tsm7aksaltn (Splatsin Teaching Centre) Society, Enderby
Zelda Williams, Future 4 Nations Aboriginal Head Start Program, Mission

2002 Award Recipient(s)
Catherine Belleau, Esketemc Day Care, Esketemc First Nation, Williams Lake area
Starr Pettis, Seabird Island Band, Agassiz
Crystal Tom, Le’lum’uy’l Daycare Centre, Cowichan Tribes, Duncan

Scroll to Top